On academic freedom: Affirming our integrity and independence

  1. Deb Aikat, Associate Professor
  2. Lucinda Austin, Assistant Professor
  3. Andy Bechtel, Associate Professor
  4. Lois Boynton, Associate Professor
  5. Stephanie Willen Brown, Director of Park Library
  6. Paul Cuadros, Associate Professor
  7. Maria Leonora (Nori) Comello, Associate Professor
  8. Patrick Davison, Professor
  9. Francesca Dillman Carpentier, W. Horace Carter Distinguished Professor
  10. Julie Dixon, Professor of the Practice
  11. Victoria Smith Ekstrand, Associate Professor & Caroline H. and Thomas S. Royster Distinguished Professor for Graduate Education
  12. Deen Freelon, Associate Professor
  13. Livis Freeman, Assistant Professor
  14. Barbara Friedman, Associate Professor
  15. Rhonda Gibson, James H. Shumaker Professor
  16. Chad Heartwood, Associate Professor
  17. Heidi Hennink-Kaminski, Hugh Morton Distinguished Professor
  18. Joe Bob Hester, Associate Professor
  19. Steven King, Associate Professor
  20. Nazanin B. Knudsen, Adjunct Instructor
  21. Daniel Kreiss, Edgar Thomas Cato Distinguished Associate Professor
  22. Sarah Lamm, Adjunct Instructor
  23. Allison Lazard, Associate Professor
  24. Tom Linden, Glaxo Wellcome Distinguished Professor of Medical Journalism
  25. Farnosh Mazandarani, Doctoral Candidate
  26. Trevy A. McDonald, Julian W. Scheer Term Associate Professor
  27. Michael McElroy, Adjunct Instructor
  28. Shannon C. McGregor, Assistant Professor
  29. Lee McGuigan, Assistant Professor
  30. Erin Siegal McIntyre, Assistant Professor
  31. Dana McMahan, Professor of the Practice
  32. Lee Meredith, Adjunct Instructor
  33. Seth M. Noar, James Howard and Hallie McLean Parker Distinguished Professor
  34. Terence Oliver, Walter Spearman Distinguished Professor
  35. Tamara Rice, Adjunct Professor
  36. John L. Robinson, Stembler Professional in Residence
  37. Laura Ruel, Associate Professor
  38. Kate Sheppard, Teaching Associate Professor
  39. John Sweeney, Distinguished Professor
  40. Ryan Thornburg, Associate Professor
  41. Lisa Servia Villamil, Assistant Professor
  42. Barbara Wiedemann, Communications Strategist




Faculty members of UNC's Hussman School of Journalism and Media

Love podcasts or audiobooks? Learn on the go with our new app.

Recommended from Medium


School Board Candidate Responses

I learned that I still have a lot to learn!

RISD School Times — May 31, 2018

#9What is your perspective on a fixed vs.

Talking about homeschooling

Sanskrit has no accent

Phones at Schools: Tools for Distraction, Cheating, and Anxiety

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Hussman Faculty

Hussman Faculty

Faculty members of UNC's Hussman School of Journalism and Media

More from Medium

The Christmas Letter 2021

Sit back and learn python

Equity and Justice: Toward a New Normal in 2022

Three figures representing a diverse workforce work together.

Doug Ford’s Reckoning